Post LA Sketching on Assignment

20061007_spikey-hair-sequence_0089

Eyeballs! That is my assignment. To fill pages with eyeballs, trade eyeballs to be specific. One of the mentors, Cecelia Yung, AD, Penguin, said I have a trade portfolio but some of the characters have mass market eyes. Oops! One too many episode of Saturday morning cartoons. So I pulled some books from my shelves to do copywork from, in this case it was Bennett Cerf’s Book of Laughs, illustrated by Carl Rose.

The main character is a little boy named Marvin, but because I was interested in just the facial expression, I ended up just throwing some spiky hair on top. Before long I found myself making it longer and adding a bow. When I added the bodies in, I ended up with a little tom boy which is much more fun that what I would have drawn had I started out to draw a young girl. I probably would have been tempted to head towards those Disneyesque Cinderella type eyes, which is the wrong direction!

20061006_more-sketching_0431b

20061006_more-sketching_0434

20061007_spikey-hair-sequence_0091

One of the things I am also incorporating from the mentor’s comments is to do one style that does not have backgrounds. Because I have a tendency to really work into a piece with a lot of graphite and cross-hatching, it has been fun to literally scribble as fast as I can, then move onto the next image. Of course this is all copy work, so my own interpretation will come at a later point, but for now it is about reinforcing trade eyes instead of mass market eyes into my character work.

20061007_book-of-laughs-marvin_0001

20061007_book-of-laughs-marvin_0007

20061007_book-of-laughs-marvin_0005

4 thoughts on “Post LA Sketching on Assignment

  1. Pingback: On Assignment Part Two- Spiked Hair | Noble Illustrations Process and Musings

  2. Pingback: On Assignment September 2014 | Noble Illustrations Process and Musings

  3. Thanks for posting, and for the images from the book (that is one fantastic giraffe!). I’m still not quite sure what makes an eyeball mass media, but I will certainly be paying close attention! Artists need to use the Hawaiian hand gesture for greeting each other, hang loose, but with a slightly different understanding!

    Like

Comments are closed.